Greed is not good

Greed- A selfish and excessive desire for more of something than is needed http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/greed

Strongs- 4124 Pleonexia – greedy desire to have more, covetousness, avarice

Earlier this week a question was posed in a FB group – Are you an emotional eater?  My response was yes I’m an emotional eater I eat when I’m happy, sad, angry, stressed and bored.   I also responded that it has been quite awhile since I’ve been content.  When I’m content everything else seems to fall into place.  Contentment is not only an answer for my appetite for food it is a way also to overcome greed.  In reading this weeks lesson on greed what stuck out to me is Paul saying that he learned to be content in all things.  In the past when I was content it wasn’t because I learned anything…I just was content.  Paul learned to be content  I’m not sure how exactly he learned it but it is something I now want to learn.  In fact I need to learn how to be content I see the damage that not being content has done to me.  My not being content has not only caused me harm but it has harmed some of my relationship with others.  Just this week I see that being discontent has had a part in my being overweight, stressed and not very pleasant to be around.  I prayed several months ago that the Lord would reveal anything within me that is not pleasing to Him and this is just one of the things that He has revealed.  I’m convinced that He will not only continue to reveal what is not pleasing but with that reveal what is pleasing and direct my ways.

Leave a Reply

