I read, I spoke, I heard and yet needed another reminder before I applied it.

Today we discussed temptation and sin.   Some of the women had some questions about temptation and how to keep them from taking up residence in your mind and we found answers in Scripture.  We spoke of Phillipians 4:6- 9

6 Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.
7And the peace of God, which surpasses all comprehension, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.
9 The things you have learned and received and heard and seen in me, practice these things, and the God of peace will be with you. (biblestudytools.com)
and Romans 12:1-2
1 Therefore I urge you, brethren, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies a living and holy sacrifice, acceptable to God, which is your spiritual service of worship.
2 And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, so that you may prove what the will ofGod is, that which is good and acceptable and perfect.  (biblestudytools.com)
 One of the things I shared was how I want God to take away everything that is not pleasing to Him & I expect it all to go away immediately.   I prayed for the Lord to reveal to me all that was not pleasing to Him and He has been answering that prayer.  But it seems there is so much of it and I don’t want everyone to see it.  I don’t like that it’s there and that it is taking so much time to be free of it.   I was talking about  my anger, my ability to become easily upset.  Well prior to bible study this morning some news upset me and before I could process it and “hide”  my emotions (anger/sin) (just like the people in our study: Eve, Adam, Achan and David) it  was time for study to begin  Even as we were discussing Temptation and Sin I didn’t realize how much it applied to what I was experiencing at that very moment.  At the end of the study I was still a bit upset so I came home upset.  As I sit here I’m reminded that I have also been praying for the Lord to show me how to walk after the Spirit and not the flesh.  One of the women at bible study reminded us that when temptation comes we have a choice.  I had a choice and I made the wrong choice.  I chose to stay upset and focus on being upset rather than thinking on whatever is true, honorable, excellent, right and praiseworthy. Another  woman in our bible study spoke of God’s patience with us and I am ever so glad that He is indeed patient with me.  He shows us  in His Word how to respond and I didn’t apply it until later in the day.  His Holy Spirit reminds us of what we read and heard from His word and I now have an opportunity to make a right choice.
Leave a Reply

